Skip to Main Content

Music For A While
Wednesday May 18th, 2022 with David Cavlovic
Musicians don't be so hard on yourselves

I did it again! I allowed another incorrect factoid to slip into the broadcast. I credited the wrong conductor for the Scriabin. It's not Walter Süsskind; it's Issay Dobrowen. That's the sort of week I had last week. I blame the heat...or long Covid...or Putin....or...
Sir William Walton: Crown Imperial. A Coronation March
Eastman Wind Ensemble; Frederick Fennell, conductor - British and American Band Classics - Mercury Living Presence
Hector Berlioz: Les francs-juges, Overture, Op. 3
London Symphony Orchestra; Sir Colin Davis, conductor - Berlioz. 5 Overtures - Philips
Paul Kunigis: Ostatni Dzien
Paul Kunigis, vocal; Jeszcze Raz - Balagane - Audiogram Canadian
Alexander Scriabin: Piano Concerto in F-sharp Minor, Op. 20
Solomon, piano; Philharmonia Orchestra; Issay Dobrowen, conductor - Bliss & Scriabin: Piano Concertos - EMI Great Recordings of the Century
I. Allegro
II. Theme (Andante) & Variations (I. – II. Allegro scherzando – III. Adagio – IV. Allegretto – Tempo I)
III. Allegro moderato
Interactive CKCU