Skip to Main Content
Rabble Without A Cause
Rabble Without A Cause is a program devoted to the Avantgarde side of Jazz.
Hosted by: Bernard Stepien, David Broscoe and Zach Baird
Airs: Every Wednesday from 11:00 PM to 12:00 AM

Coming up at 11:00 PM on November 14th, 2018:
Ron Steeds features a duo concert performed by pianist John Tilbury (employing a prepared piano and a non-prepared piano) and trumpeter Ishmael Wadada Leo Smith at Bishopsgate in London on November 14, 2012. Expect the unexpected.

Rabble Without A Cause

Date Host Highlight On Demand
Nov. 7, 2018 Jean-Michel Labatut Jean Derome and Louis Sclavis live at the 18th Victoriaville International Jazz festival (2001)
Oct. 31, 2018 Jean-Michel Labatut & Ron Steeds Funding Drive Episode #2
Oct. 24, 2018 Ron Steeds Funding Drive Episode #1
Oct. 17, 2018 Jim Reil Peter Brotzmann Machine Gun
Oct. 10, 2018 Bernard Stepien Cecil Taylor tribute: Winged Serpent
Oct. 3, 2018 Ron Steeds Ron chats with Ernesto Cervini

Rabble Without a Cause features:

  • Avant-garde Jazz
  • Live performances of local and international Musicians
  • The analysis of new currents thoughout the history of Jazz
  • Rabble Without A Cause is a program devoted to the Avantgarde side of Jazz. It features Jazz Avantgarde music of all times. Forexample, Louis Armstrong was an avangarde artist when he first played West End Blues in 1921 !

    Duke Ellington, the most intensive innovator of Jazz History has been a perpetual avantgardist creating sound textures, styles that were constantly sounding new. Jazz Avantgarde has exploded since the early '60 when a score of very creative musicians from John Coltrane to Charles Mingus to Cecil Taylor to Anthony Braxton and to a lots of canadian musicians including Peggy Lee.

    RWAC features programs with biographical details of musicians, analysis, interviews and live on air performances of local musicians such as Billy Robinson, Kenji Omae, John Geggie, Rody Ellias, Steve Groves, Petr Cancura, GleBop, Anna Williams, Dan Friedman, Peter Turner, Linsey Wellman, Mike Essoudry and more to come!